no-tuna melt

Standard

I know, I know…2 food posts in a row. I mentioned all the different things I made on Sunday in my post yesterday and I thought this was another great recipe to share. You can make it ahead of time and it helps make the busy weekdays seem a little less stressful. Enjoy this egg-free, dairy-free and fish-free recipe.

No-Tuna Melt with pickle and Roasted Kabocha Squash

I’ve never been a big fan of tuna, even when I ate animal products. I hate the smell of tuna filling the kitchen when the can is opened, you know what I’m talking about. I didn’t give much thought to trying a no-tuna salad sandwich, I wasn’t missing it so why would I seek out the recipe. One day, since going vegan, I had a craving for a tuna melt! I have no idea why, luckily I don’t miss animal products, not even cheese. So needless to say it was very strange that I had a craving for something I didn’t even like. Regardless, I searched online for a recipe to squelch my craving. I was amazed. I couldn’t believe how much I could like a tunaless tuna sandwich, it was perfect without all the gross tuna smell and taste. As well as being ocean-wise. I eventually tweaked the recipe I found to my liking and every so often I’ll make a batch of no-tuna salad and keep the leftovers in the fridge for a quick and filling lunch. I usually roll it up in a wrap with some veggies and greens but today I had another craving for a tuna melt. My no-tuna melt hit the spot.

No-Tuna Salad

1 can of organic chickpeas (or 1.5 cups cooked)
1/2 cup raw organic cashews (or almonds)
juice of half lemon
1 tsp kelp powder
1 celery rib, minced
1/4 onion, minced
1/4 veganaise (or brand of your choice)
1.5 tsp dijon mustard
salt & pepper to taste

In a food processor, pulse until chickpeas and cashews are coarsely chopped. Add lemon juice and kelp powder, mix well. Transfer to a large bowl and add the rest of the ingredients and stir well. Add more veganaise if needed.

To transform into No-Tuna Melt you’ll need:

2 slices of bread
1 tbsp veganaise
1/2 cup No-Tuna Salad
1/4 cup zucchini, spiralized (or grated)
1/4 cup carrot, spiralized (or grated)
whole spinach leaves
daiya grated cheese, I mixed cheddar and mozzarella (or use any cheese of your preference)

Assembly:

Preheat the oven’s broiler on high (if you have the option). Toast the bread in the toaster. Spread 1/2 tbsp of veganaise on each piece of toast. Spread 1/4 cup of No-Tuna Salad on each piece of toast, then split the zucchini and carrot between both pieces of toast. Place a few pieces of spinach on each one then lastly top with the grated daiya. Carefully place each piece under the broiler, keep your eye on them! Leave the door open slightly to ensure they don’t burn. It doesn’t take long. Remove when cheese is melted to your liking. Enjoy.

Peace and love.

Leave a Reply

