happiest new year

Standard

I can’t remember the last New Year’s Eve that we actually went out? For the last 6 years, I’m pretty sure I spent the evening taking down the Christmas decorations. Which suites me fine. It’s not that we don’t have any invites, we have had them in the past and this year too but we don’t mind so much, New Year’s is not a holiday either of us really see any point in. This year I thought it might be fun to have a family New Year’s but that didn’t work out, onto plan B. Bryn picked up some Coronas for himself and got me Mango Cider. I’m hoping to last until midnight. Although I did follow through on one of my New Year’s traditions of packing away all the Christmas decorations. I loved having them out but definitely don’t like dragging out the Christmas season and I don’t mean that in a bah-humbug way.

As I was putting the kids to bed tonight I told them that when they wake up tomorrow it would be 2012, today was the very last day of 2011. They were amazed by this and Brody thought that meant he went to school tomorrow. With the talk of moving into the new year I told the boys that tomorrow we could think about our New Year’s resolutions. Kaden said “oh no, I hate resolutions, last year’s resolutions SUCKED”! haha I guess to an 8 year old giving up candy does suck! On a positive note they did a great job of sticking to the resolution and we were able to cut out a lot of candy and sweets from their diet. Maybe this year we’ll be a little more collaborative about what we choose?

What are your New Year’s resolutions for 2012?

In my world this is still the happiest way to spend new year’s eve.

Happy New Year with peace and love all throughout the year.

Mmmmango cider and cinnamon donut holes.

This afternoon I made Cinnamon Donut Holes from Vegan A Go-Go cookbook that Bryn got me for Christmas. It’s a little pocketbook style book that is perfect to tote along when you’re traveling. Looking forward to enjoying them with my mango cider!

Leave a Reply

